Australia (17 Dec 2011 to 30 Jan 2012)

Deborah and Lois at the Brisbane Int Tennis Tournament at Tennyson, Brisbane
Deborah and Lois at the Brisbane Int Tennis Tournament at Tennyson, Brisbane

by Dingo…

 

Our flight from Bali left late in the evening so our arrival at Tullarmarine in Melbourne was early the next morning. It was strange touching down on home soil having not been back home since May 2007. We had a few hours to wait until our flight to Brisbane departed. We arrived in Brisbane to be greeted by my father, Dan, and nephew, Preston.

 

Since arriving back in Brisbane we have been super busy catching up with family and friends, sorting through old archive boxes of my books and records, finishing my family tree, attending the Brisbane International Tennis tournament, going to a Brisbane Heat T20 cricket match at the Gabba, trying to sell my car, learning Spanish for our South America leg of the world, going for runs, Fudgie attending many yoga classes and updating our website.

 

Highlights:

 

• Spending Christmas with my family for the first time since 2003 (hanging out with my mum, dad, brother, nephew, nana, cousins, aunts and uncles)

 

• Hanging out with my nephew and playing football in the park

 

• Catching up with the Stewart family, whose son Paul I coached in cricket when he was 9 years old. It was great to see Alan, Lyn and Paul.

 

• Catching up with the Dumo family who have been family friends since my mother was a child. Nice to see their family is multiplying! Enjoyed Boxing Day at Fairearth st and also catching up in the Valley for dinner!

 

• Having a barbeque lunch at my cousin Vanessa’s place; getting to spend time with her family the Patons and also my Auntie Fay and Uncle John Jones (thanks for all the information on our family tree!)

 

• Filling in for a 3rd grade match for Norths DCC in the last match before Christmas. Enjoyed playing in the T20 match, although was a tad stiff the next day!

 

• Deborah attending many Bikram Yoga sessions at the local centre in Brisbane and even more of a highlight attending a session taught by the founder of Bikram Yoga, Bikram Choudary himself…check out the picture of Fudgie with the legend!

 

• Deborah attending a Zumba class with my mother! Nice work.

 

• Sorting through 25 archive boxes containing my life in books and records. It was funny to look through some of the sentimental items I had kept, but also good to clear out a lot of the unnecessary documents and papers that one hoards during a lifetime. Result – 25 boxes condensed to 9!

 

• Having an afternoon on the Gold Coast playing putt putt crazy golf and sitting / sleeping on the beach at Surfers Paradise.

 

• Catching up with Norths DCC mates and partners like Greg and Carly Maher, Simon and Catriona Smith, Nick and Afra Brown,

 

• Great to see cricket pals Wiggas and Cliffo as well!

 

• Catching up with Mark and Brooke Leung and their beautiful little daughters Frances and Harri.

 

• Spending time with my old childhood mate Blair Richards, his fiancé Kelly and their son Luca.

 

• Drinks and dinner with Brad and Lucy Vinning, Dan Corden and Liam Bannon who are Aussie friends of ours who lived in Jersey, but are back in Australia now!

 

• Lunching with Terry and Heather Kersey at the famous Breakfast Creek Hotel.

 

• Visiting my old cricket coach and mentor Mr La Frantz – what a gentleman and legend.

 

• Dinner twice with longtime family friend, Judy Harris, who is one of the greatest scorers in Australian cricket history! (43 Test matches and over 450 first class matches)

 

Although our South America flights were changed a few times, we definitely leave on Monday, 30 January 2012 heading for Buenos Aires. We have geared up as much as possible for South America and are very much so looking forward to the adventure! Vea usted en América del Sur! Adiós

Write a comment

Comments: 12
  • #1

    Duke (Tuesday, 24 January 2012 10:04)

    Keep having a great time you two x Duke & Debs

  • #2

    Veruschka de la Haye (Thursday, 19 April 2012 22:57)

    Hi, only just catching up with your fantastic journey again....such a lot of interesting news to read. You are certainly having some wonderful experiences! Only just read about your kidney stones Deborah (before I saw you in KL!). Poor you - sorry I wasn't sympathic! Deano, it must have been fantastic for you to spend time with your family again after such a long time - hard to imagine for a Jersey girl who has only lived in England at university (apart from holidays of course), but never lived anywhere else apart from Ohio for 4 months when I was 21! Sam has now finished at uni, apart from 3 big pieces of course work, which he will be sending by recorded post. Tim was back for Easter, but has gone back for the summer term. I hope to enter your competition before the deadline, but it will probably be a guess! Take care and keep safe, Veruschka, Derek, Sam and Tim x x x x

  • #3

    Ali Auber (Friday, 27 April 2012 23:33)

    Sounds fab Deano - I had no idea you hadn't been back for 5 years! and almost 10 years for Christmas! It must have been super for your family having you & Debs around and sounds like you were able to catch up with a pile of peeps as well as squeeze in a bit of cricket! So jelly of Debs meeting Bikram himself! Hope your lovely Ma & Pa were well & your bro & little Preston too x

  • #4

    Ali Auber (Friday, 27 April 2012 23:46)

    Erm... hello?! I just checked out your pics and looks like Bikram is seriously perving on Debs! He's clearly starkers under that flimsy white towel!

  • #5

    Renee Bensinger (Saturday, 04 February 2017 05:14)


    When someone writes an paragraph he/she keeps the idea of a user in his/her mind that how a user can be aware of it. Thus that's why this paragraph is amazing. Thanks!

  • #6

    Fae Brune (Saturday, 04 February 2017 21:52)


    Thanks , I've recently been looking for info approximately this topic for a long time and yours is the best I have came upon till now. But, what about the conclusion? Are you positive in regards to the source?

  • #7

    Kisha Schwein (Sunday, 05 February 2017 07:59)


    It's a shame you don't have a donate button! I'd without a doubt donate to this superb blog! I suppose for now i'll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to new updates and will share this site with my Facebook group. Chat soon!

  • #8

    Garnet Packard (Sunday, 05 February 2017 12:25)


    Fine way of telling, and pleasant post to get information about my presentation focus, which i am going to convey in university.

  • #9

    Linnea Udell (Thursday, 09 February 2017 02:15)


    WOW just what I was looking for. Came here by searching for %keyword%

  • #10

    Theola Bower (Thursday, 09 February 2017 12:52)


    Hi! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this website? I'm getting tired of Wordpress because I've had issues with hackers and I'm looking at options for another platform. I would be fantastic if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  • #11

    Lila Denk (Thursday, 09 February 2017 13:54)


    My brother suggested I may like this website. He was once totally right. This post truly made my day. You cann't believe simply how much time I had spent for this information! Thank you!

  • #12

    Evan Hafer (Friday, 10 February 2017 04:58)


    always i used to read smaller content which as well clear their motive, and that is also happening with this article which I am reading at this time.